About us
You are here

IWAP member biographies

About each member of the Independent Water Advisory Panel.

Mr Chris Davis (Chair)

Chris Davis brings a wealth of water management experience to the Independent Water Advisory Panel. He is a National Water Commissioner, and Chairman of the Water Security Research Alliance in South East Queensland.

Mr Davis has a BSc (Civil Engineering) from the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, a Master’s Degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Texas at Austin and an MBA from the University  of New England. He is a former Chair of the Metropolitan Water Independent Review Panel, and is a former Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Water Association.

As Chair of the new Independent Water Advisory Panel, Chris Davis also brings with him extensive experience in civil engineering and decentralised systems, planning and water sensitive urban design.

Mr Ross Chapman

The Independent Water Advisory Panel will benefit from Ross Chapman’s more than 30 years of economic consulting experience and work as an academic economist.

Mr Chapman’s contribution as a member of the Panel is underpinned by five years of highly valued service on the Metropolitan Water Independent Review Panel for greater Sydney.

Holding an MA in Economics, Ross Chapman has experience in a broad range of urban water related and strategic planning consultancies including work for the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal, World Bank, AusAID, Victorian Treasury, Queensland Treasury, ACT Chief Minister’s Department, SA Water, Sydney Water, Gold Coast Water, former NSW Waste Services and City Rail.

Dr Tony Church

Dr Tony Church has extensive experience in surface water quality and aquatic ecology including freshwater, estuarine and marine systems, extensive expertise in environmental water allocation and extensive expertise in strategic water resource management.

He has a BSc (Biology) from Flinders University in South Australia, and a PhD in Aquatic Ecology from the University  of New South Wales.

Dr Church is Principal Environmental Scientist at Tony Church & Associates and has served on the Office of the Hawkesbury-Nepean’s Stakeholder Advisory Committee in the Environment Membership Category and on the Independent Expert Panel for Environmental Flows in the Woronora, Shoalhaven and Hawkesbury-Nepean River Systems.

Professor George Kuczera

Professor George Kuczera holds a Bachelor of Engineering (Civil) from the University of Melbourne, and a PhD from Harvard  University.

From 1982 to 1985 he worked as a hydrologist and systems engineer, Melbourne and Metropolitan Board of Works. Since 1986, Prof Kuczera has worked for the University  of Newcastle, where a major research interest has been urban water supply simulation, optimisation, drought risk management and integrated water management.

Along with his experience in the Hunter region, Professor Kuczera is a leading expert in hydrology, hydrological modelling and water systems planning.

Professor Cynthia Mitchell

Professor Cynthia Mitchell has extensive experience in working with industry and government to improve the sustainability of our urban environment, with a particular focus on water services and infrastructure.

Prof Mitchell is recognised nationally and internationally for her transdisciplinary approach. Her contribution is distinguished by the way it melds her engineering and science training with social research, futures and systems, and economics.

Prof Mitchell is Deputy Director of and Professor of Sustainability at the Institute for Sustainable Futures at the University  of Technology Sydney. Chalmers University in Sweden awarded her an Honorary Doctorate of Technology. She holds a PhD in science from University of New South Wales and a chemical engineering degree from University  of Queensland.

Dr William Edward John (WEJ) Paradice AM

Dr WEJ Paradice was Chief Executive of the Hunter Valley Research Foundation from 1985 to 2013.

Dr Paradice has a Bachelor of Natural Resources from the University of New England, a Masters in Science from Colorado State University, a PhD from the University of Idaho and an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Newcastle. He has experience as: Trustee of the Hunter Catchment Management Trust from 1989 to 2003, Chair of the Hunter River Management Committee from 1997 to 2004, Chair of the Hunter Central River Catchment Management Authority from 2004 to 2011; Chair of the Hunter River Salinity Trading Scheme; and as a Board Member of the Tom Farrell Institute for the Environment at the University of Newcastle.

Dr Paradice is a Conjoint Professor in environmental studies at the University of Newcastle. He has also been facilitating the community consultative committee for the upgrade of Burwood Beach treatment plant for Hunter Water Corporation.

Dr Paradice’s strong knowledge of the Hunter region and his expertise in natural resource management, regional economics, river health, research and mediation will greatly benefit the Independent Water Advisory Panel.